Spike Lee

Those were the words of Spike Lee weather you like it or not it does hold some truths. Gentrification changes neighborhoods weather it be for better or worse. I’m personally conflicted on the issue because as a kid growing up in NY I want my neighborhood to change for the better but I would hope that doesn’t mean that the folks living in their homes have to leave. Unfortunately in my eyes I think neighborhoods are changing in favor of those who have money and will only get better with those of higher socioeconomic class.

I find it strange how certain papers will address the issue. The New York Times for example will talk about the changing of a neighborhood for the good but won’t mention how it affects the current residents. While other papers will address the issue head on and bring light to the problem.

Leave a Reply

